Cockrell School of Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin

Four UT PGE faculty members will be awarded 2014 International SPE awards at this year’s Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition (ATCE) in Amsterdam.

Professor Kamy Sepehrnoori, who holds the W.A. (Monty) Moncrief Centennial Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering, and Research Professor Mojdeh Delshad will receive the SPE Distinguished Member award. This award recognizes SPE members who achieve distinction deemed worthy of special recognition and acknowledges members who have attained eminence in the petroleum industry or the academic community, or who have made significant contributions to SPE.

Sepehrnoori is recognized worldwide for his development and application of innovative compositional reservoir simulators for enhanced oil recovery. Mojdeh is the head of the research group for developing the UTCHEM reservoir simulator software, the most accepted numerical reservoir simulator for chemical EOR processes used by many oil companies and universities around the globe.

Associate Professor Matt Balhoff will receive the SPE Young Member Outstanding Service Award. This award recognizes contributions to and leadership in public and community matters, the Society, the petroleum engineering profession, or the petroleum industry. Balhoff’s strong service commitment to the department, university and SPE, made him a natural winner in this category.

Professor Mary Wheeler will garner the incredibly prestigious title of SPE Honorary Member. Honorary Membership is the highest honor that SPE presents and is limited to 0.1 percent of the SPE total membership. This elite group represents those individuals who have given outstanding service to SPE or have demonstrated distinguished scientific or engineering achievements in the fields within the technical scope of SPE.

Wheeler is no stranger to prestigious awards for her work in impacting energy production through enhanced oil and gas extraction, air quality with carbon sequestration in saline aquifers, and water quality with environmental remediation in groundwater - last year she was presented the John von Neumann Medal for a Career of Achievements and the Lifetime Achievement Award by the International Society of Porous Media.

Earlier this year, Drs. Hugh Daigle and David DiCarlo both received SPE Regional awards.