Three Faculty Win Four 2019 International Awards

July 09, 2019

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) and the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineering (AIME) are awarding three Hildebrand Department professors with four 2019 international awards for their significant contributions to the field of petroleum engineering.

Professor Carlos Torres-Verdin is receiving the prestigious SPE Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal, which honors distinguished achievement in the identification and development of new technology and concepts that will enhance the process of finding or producing petroleum.

Associate professor Zoya Heidari garnered two international awards. The SPE Distinguished Member Award, which acknowledges members who have attained eminence in the petroleum industry or the academic community, or who have made significant contributions to SPE. In addition, her paper “Directional-permeability assessment in formations with complex pore geometry with a new nuclear-magnetic-resonance-based permeability modelearned the AIME Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award. This honor recognizes the best paper published by AIME in a given period where the lead author is a member under 35 years of age.

Jon Olson, chair and professor, is the 2019 winner of the SPE International Completions Optimization and Technology Award. The accolade recognizes outstanding achievement or contributions to the advancement of petroleum engineering in the area of completions optimization and technology.

The faculty will receive the SPE awards during the organization’s Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE), Sept. 30 – Oct. 2, in Calgary.