Two Professors Win International Awards

June 30, 2020

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) is awarding two Hildebrand Department professors with 2020 international awards for their significant contributions to the field of petroleum engineering.

(l to r) Dr. Mukul Sharma and Dr. Kamy Sepehrnoori

Professor Mukul Sharma is receiving Honorary Membership, which is the highest honor that SPE presents to an individual and is limited to 0.1 percent of the SPE total membership. According to SPE, the elite group represents those individuals who have given outstanding service to SPE or have demonstrated distinguished scientific or engineering achievements in the fields within the technical scope of SPE. As a world-renowned hydraulic fracturing researcher, Sharma has published more than 400 journal articles and conference proceedings and has 23 patents. He is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering and has previously won five other prestigious SPE awards.

Professor Kamy Sepehrnoori is being honored with the Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty. This honor recognizes superiority in classroom teaching, excellence in research, significant contributions to the petroleum engineering profession and/or special effectiveness in advising and guiding students. Sepehrnoori is globally recognized for his research and teaching interests, which include: computational methods, reservoir simulation, parallel computing, enhanced oil recovery modeling, naturally fractured reservoirs, and unconventional resources. This is Sepehrnoori’s third SPE award in the past six years.

The professors are slated to receive the international awards in October at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE).