Distinguished Alumni

For nearly a century, UT PGE has educated leaders who have shaped the oil and gas industry. In 2010, the Hildebrand Department created the Distinguished Alumni Ceremony to recognize the best among them  company executives, technological innovators and astute entrepreneurs with unmatched industry expertise and a continued commitment to our UT PGE community.

2021 Distinguished Alumni Honorees

William "Bill" Edward Findley, Jr.
BSPE ’47

Ken Nelson*
BSPE ’70

Paul Bommer
BSPE ’76, MSPE ’77, PhD PE ’79

Eugene "Gene" B. Shepherd. Jr.
BSPE ’81, MBA ’86

Nick Steinsberger
BSPE ’87

Mariya Townswick
BSPE ’08

*to be awarded in 2022

See photos from the event:

Distinguished Alumni Ceremony and Dinner
Friday, Nov. 12, 2021

UT PGE Tailgate: UT vs. Kansas
Saturday, Nov. 13, 2021

Partnership Opportunities
Your support as a Distinguished Alumni partner makes it possible for us to:

  • Celebrate the accomplishments of our honorees and highlight their contributions to the oil and gas industry
  • Contribute funds above the cost of the event to PGE student scholarships and our efforts to diversify the industry by recruiting and retaining top students
  • Promote your business to hundreds of community members and business leaders

Thank you to our 2021 DA event supporters!

Premier Underwriter
Gary L. Thomas

Drs. Paul and Kelley Bommer
Cairn Oil and Gas
Percussion Petroleum II, LLC

Premier Supporter

Arena Energy
David and Carol Christian
Folger Energy, LLC
I&GN Resources
Jillian Jopling and Peter McGillivray
Robin and Gene Shepherd
Stephen and Myra Skinner
Nick Steinsberger and Family
Strand Energy, LC
Brian and Cindy Sullivan
Jerry and Cheryl Windlinger
Wright Energy, LLC

Tailgate Presenter
Thank you for the anonymous gift made on behalf of UT PGE alumni! 

Thank you to our 2021 Distinguished Alumni Committee:
Sue Barth
John Campbell
James Dupree
Jeffrey Edgar
Steve Habachy
Susan Howes (DA committee chair)
Jillian Jopling
William Kazmann
Steve Skinner
Tim Taylor
Paul Woodul

Contact Sara Hernando, alumni and constituent relations manager, for more information.