Gary Thomas photo

Gary L. Thomas

Gary L. Thomas is president of EOG Resources Inc., one of the largest independent crude oil and natural gas companies in the United States with proved reserves in the United States, Trinidad, the United Kingdom and China.

Thomas received his BS in petroleum engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 1972 and earned his MBA from the University of Tulsa in 1983.

After graduating from UT Austin, Thomas held various engineering and production management positions with Unocal and Apache, and, in 1978, he began working for one of the predecessor companies of EOG. He has since held a number of senior management roles at EOG, including senior executive vice president of operations, from 2007 to 2011; executive vice president of operations, from 2002 to 2007; and executive vice president of North American operations, from 1998 to 2002. He served as chief operating officer from September 2011 to December 2017 and became president in March 2015.

As president of EOG, Thomas is responsible for the profitability and growth of exploration and production activities across the company’s operating areas throughout a diverse portfolio of assets, including the Eagle Ford, Delaware Basin, Bakken Formation, Powder River Basin, DJ Basin and Anadarko Basin.

Thomas is a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and the Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Association. He is a former director of the Permian Basin Petroleum Association and served two terms as a member of the Cockrell School’s Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering External Advisory Committee. He was recently awarded the Cockrell School of Engineering’s Distinguishing Engineering Graduate Award. Currently, Thomas serves on the Board of Directors of Nine Energy Service.

Thomas resides in Houston and is very active in his church and community. He has collected high-performance Fords for many years, utilizing them in community fundraising events.

Thomas and his brother, Kirk Thomas, feel very fortunate to have attended The University of Texas at Austin.